Oundle Red Kites Part 2.

If you’ve read my previous post “Oundle red kites” you will know about the red kite nest not far from my house. Last week when I went along to see what was going on I shot some video with the D4 and also took a few stills. I hadn’t really looked at the still images until last night. I’ve decided to post a few here –

The video I compiled can be viewed here – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wMhGoayQEH4

Red kite on the nest. D4, 600mm + 1.7TC. DX crop mode.

Red kite on the nest. D4, 600mm + 1.7TC. DX crop mode.

Red kite with nesting material. D4, 600mm + 1.7TC

Red kite with nesting material. D4, 600mm + 1.7TC

Red kite returns with nesting material. D4, 600mm + 1.7TC.

Red kite returns with nesting material. D4, 600mm + 1.7TC.

Red kite in flight with nesting material. Part of the same sequence of images as the previous two. D4, 600mm + 1.7TC.

Red kite in flight with nesting material. Part of the same sequence of images as the previous two. D4, 600mm + 1.7TC.

The last image is destined for the reject bin. I was observing the kites and I knew from the behaviour something was about to happen. Sure enough both kites landed in a nearby tree and began to mate. This lasted for less than a minute, unfortunately for me it was a windy day with swaying branches and leaves obscuring the view.

Red kites mating. D4, 600mm + 1.7TC.

Red kites mating. D4, 600mm + 1.7TC.

You can view my other images at http://www.derekwatt.co.uk

Copyright 2013. Derek Watt.

Leave a Reply

